RBlog – Begin Where You Are

“Don’t believe every worried thought you have. Worried thoughts are notoriously inaccurate.” – Renee Jain

Welcome back to the River Blog, my friends! Fun news update: MY BROTHER IS NOW MARRIED! Technically that happened two weeks ago, but gimme a break here, I just started this blog and organization is tricky. The less fun news is that now I am the only one of four children to not yet be married. The relatives are beginning to circle. #singlesbeware

shark

On the writing side of things, I am ALMOST done with the third chapter of my sci-fi novel. It is utterly amazing how many eons it can take to shovel through writing a scene that, within the story, takes place in about five minutes. Such is the lot of a writer sometimes. But enough of my griping, it’s time for this week’s Encouraging Post!

This week, I thought I’d share this great devotional I read in Our Daily Bread. It talks about how we can stop and see God’s beauty around us, right where we’re at. I think that’s a message we can all use!

And if you get ALL the way through reading that, you can end with a heart-meltingly adorable video of small children loving and appreciating their garbage collector guys.

Begin Where You Are

“The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands. Psalm 19:1

I came across a solitary flower growing in a meadow today—a tiny purple blossom “wasting its sweetness in the desert air,” to borrow from the poet Thomas Gray’s wonderful line. I’m sure no one had seen this particular flower before, and perhaps no one will see it again. Why this beauty in this place? I thought.

Nature is never wasted. It daily displays the truth, goodness, and beauty of the One who brought it into being. Every day nature offers a new and fresh declaration of God’s glory. Do I see Him through that beauty, or do I merely glance at it and shrug it off in indifference?

All nature declares the beauty of the One who made it. Our response can be worship, adoration, and thanksgiving—for the radiance of a cornflower, the splendor of a morning sunrise, the symmetry of one particular tree.

Author C. S. Lewis describes a walk in the forest on a hot summer day. He had just asked his friend how best to cultivate a heart thankful toward God. His hiking companion turned to a nearby brook, splashed his face and hands in a little waterfall, and asked, “Why not begin with this?” Lewis said he learned a great principle in that moment: “Begin where you are.”

A trickling waterfall, the wind in the willows, a baby robin, the blue sky, a tiny flower. Why not begin your thankfulness with this?” – David Rober, Our Daily Bread 2/5/17

download-1   download
download-3     download-2

My challenge this week is to look around you sometime today and notice something that’s really incredible. Doesn’t have to be something in nature; maybe you feel really amazed by the ingenuity God gave us that resulted in the creation of colored glass, or cell phone technology, or photo-accurate portraits made from Cheetos. (I know I’M amazed.)

Oh, and in case anyone wants another Random Act Of Kindness idea (last week’s was the Redbox sneaky snack money), a favorite of mine is to randomly pay for the person behind you in the drive-thru. Bonus points if you drive away really quickly so they don’t have a chance to recognize/thank you, like a true Good Deed Ninja. 😀

Now, click here to watch these adorable kiddos!

P.S. Next week I’ll be doing a Short Story Prompt post, wherein YOU guys get to toss out suggestions and I then have a week to write a short story around one of them. WILL I SUCCEED? (To Be Continued…)

Leave a Reply

