RB – Writing Prompt Challenge MET!

Hello, my friends, and welcome back to the River Blog! It’s been two weeks already, hasn’t it. For those of you who missed the update, I have been absent the last couple of weeks due to working on a Writing Prompt Challenge I gave myself! Some AMAZING prompts were give to me (special thanks to DURI ROLVSSON for boosting my post!), and now, after two weeks, I can finally show the results!

The prompt was “Noun and Mood”, and I received several fantastic suggestions, including (but not limited to) “Planet/Delight,” “Bus/Lonely,” and “Duck Shaped Post-it Note / Chaotic” (so many points for creativity on that one). I actually am working on at least one more short story from the prompts, but the first to be completed goes up first, says the rules of logic!

AND THE WINNER IS:

WRITEROFLETTERS‘s suggestion “Moose/Baffled”!

moose_in_yard

I love random/silly stories, and this was perfect fodder for one; it only took a few minutes of considering the implications to come up with a premise, and then it was just a matter of developing the plot from there. It’s always entertaining when I start a story with some inexplicable situation (in this case, a woman looking out the window to find a moose in her lawn) and then set out to explain it, figuring it out for myself as I go.

Naturally, I couldn’t have the explanation be anything NORMAL. That would have been boring.

Anyway, without further ado, please go give “The Moose” a read and tell me your thoughts! This is still an early draft and I imagine that this, like so many of my short stories, will experience revisions down the road. But I’m pretty satisfied with it for the two-week time frame it was written in. 🙂

I shall post the next prompt-story next week! (And who knows, I might be inspired AGAIN during that time!) Thanks again for your suggestions and for reading!

~Jenn H.

AND HAVE A HAPPY MEMORIAL DAY!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

